Who must register as a sex offender in Louisiana?

People who have been charged with a sex crime in Louisiana should know what the requirements are for the state’s sex offender registry.

In April of this year, a man filed a lawsuit against various Louisiana officials citing the unconstitutionality of the state's sex offender registry. According to Nola.com, the man was convicted in another state of transmitting obscene material to a minor. Louisiana law mandates him to register as a sex offender for either as long as the state would require or as long as the state where he was convicted - whichever is longer.

The case highlights the importance of anyone in Louisiana accused of a sex crime to understand what the state's requirements are for the sex offender registry. Failing to comply with the law could result in additional criminal repercussions.

What the law says

According to state law, any adult who has either been convicted of, pled guilty to or received a deferred or withheld adjudication for certain sex crimes must register as an offender with the state. Those crimes include the following:

  • Rape and aggravated rape
  • Sexual battery
  • Aggravated kidnapping of a child
  • Molestation
  • Child trafficking

Further, any juvenile who has either been convicted of or pled guilty to second-degree kidnapping or certain sex offenses, except simple or third-degree rape, would have to register. A juvenile who is at least 14 years old at the time of the act who commits certain sexual misconduct, such as rape or aggravated kidnapping of someone younger than 13, would also have to enter the sex offender registry.

These guidelines apply to people whose crimes were committed in Louisiana as well as those in other states.

Length of registration

As the Louisiana State Police points out, the length of time on the registry depends on the crime. For example, offenses other than those against a minor or those defined as aggravated will require 15 years of registration. Sexual offenses against a minor require a 25-year registration, and aggravated offenses will result in lifetime registration.

Where to register

The Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections reports that an offender will need to register with the parish of residency's sheriff's office. In cases in which the person's address falls into an incorporated area that has a police department, or the population of the area is more than 450,000, the person will need to register with the police.

Further, if the person works or goes to school in a parish separate from the one in which he or she lives, he or she must register with either the sheriff's office or police department there.

Louisiana law states that failing to register as a sex offender could result in a fine of up to $1,000 as well as a two- to 10-year prison sentence with hard labor. For subsequent offenses of failing to register, the prison sentence extends to as much as 20 years.

Anyone facing sex crime charges should consult with an attorney.