Damico & Stockstill, Attorneys at Law

First-time DUI offenses in Louisiana and your future

A DUI or DWI is treated very seriously in Louisiana, and even your first offense can have lasting repercussions. Because of the potential for first-time offenders to go to jail, defending yourself is vital in this state. One reason the state takes drinking and driving so seriously is the amount of deaths that take place as a result of it. For instance, data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows that 10,839 people died in DUI-related accidents in 2009.

As a driver who has had a drink or two, you don't want to face charges for what you thought was a reasonable amount of alcohol to drink before driving. It's wise to check your blood alcohol content before you drive if you're not sure about how intoxicated you are, but generally speaking, it would take more than two drinks to become intoxicated enough to register above 0.08 percent.

If you're stopped and your blood alcohol content is above 0.08 percent, then you can face a number of penalties in Louisiana. If you caused an accident and were found to have been drunk at the time, you could be sentenced to up to 30 years in prison for that incident.

On your first offense, you could risk losing your license for up to a year, and to get it reinstated, you'll have to pay $100. On top of that, you'll need to prove you have insurance every year for three years following the offense. If you're found guilty of a drunk driving crime and face criminal penalties on your first offense, you could go to jail for up to six months and be fined up to $1,000 for the charge.

Source: DMV.org, "DUI & DWI in Louisiana," accessed March. 31, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Need Help From An Experienced Team Of Trial Attorneys?

Use the form below to contact our attorneys directly. Contact us right now.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Our lawyers have over 50 years of combined experience and are AV-rated* under Martindale Hubbell's peer review rating system.

*CV, BV and AV are registered certification marks of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer review rating process. Ratings reflect the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and the Judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell Ratings fall into two categories - legal ability and general ethical standards.

Damico & Stockstill, Attorneys at Law

8048 One Calais Avenue | Suite A | Baton Rouge, LA 70809-3483 | Phone: 225-250-1812 | Fax: 225-769-0195 | Baton Rouge Law Office Map