Damico & Stockstill, Attorneys at Law

What are the consequences for multiple DWIs in Louisiana?


Most Louisiana residents know how dangerous it is to drive after drinking. But everyone makes mistakes, and occasionally, law enforcement does not follow proper procedure and thus arrests someone for a DWI without foundation. However, with respect to those who make a mistake, when a person is arrested for a second or third DWI, the penalties can be much more serious.

When a person is arrested for a second DWI they can receive a license suspension of a year, mandatory alcohol treatment and education, fines up to $1,000 and prison time of up to 6 months. An ignition interlock system may also be required to be installed. If a driver's blood alcohol content is .20 or more, the driver will face a $1,000 fine and a 4 year license suspension along with 3 years of an ignition interlock device being installed. A third offense is a felony and will bring fines of more than $2,000 and prison time of up to 5 years. The driver's vehicle may also be seized and sold at an auction. Thirty days of community service is also required along with up to 4 months of alcohol treatment. An ignition interlock system will also be required to be installed. Four or more DWI offenses bring fines of more than $5,000, up to 30 years in jail, house arrest for at least a year, vehicle seizure, alcohol treatment program and more penalties.

Any DWI is a serious offense in Louisiana. Someone who is facing a DWI charge may want speak with a legal professional who is skilled in criminal defense. An attorney understands the consequences that can occur with a DWI conviction and can aggressively defend their client against these charges. They can investigate the circumstances surrounding the arrest and make sure that proper law enforcement procedures were followed. They can help their client tell their side of the story and help reduce the charges against their client.

A DWI conviction can change a life forever. It is important for those who are arrested to know how high the stakes can be. An attorney can mean the difference between a conviction and a dismissed charge.

Source: dui.findlaw.com, "Louisiana DWI laws", accessed on May 9, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Need Help From An Experienced Team Of Trial Attorneys?

Use the form below to contact our attorneys directly. Contact us right now.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Our lawyers have over 50 years of combined experience and are AV-rated* under Martindale Hubbell's peer review rating system.

*CV, BV and AV are registered certification marks of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer review rating process. Ratings reflect the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and the Judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell Ratings fall into two categories - legal ability and general ethical standards.

Damico & Stockstill, Attorneys at Law

8048 One Calais Avenue | Suite A | Baton Rouge, LA 70809-3483 | Phone: 225-250-1812 | Fax: 225-769-0195 | Baton Rouge Criminal Law Office