Over 65 Years Of Combined Trial Experience

Teacher put in Louisiana detention center for alleged sex crime

On Behalf of | Apr 9, 2014 | Firm News, Sex Offenses |

Sex offenses are taken seriously by the law, even years after the offenses allegedly took place. Hearsay and degrading or circumstantial evidence may not be enough to convict an alleged criminal, though, and it shouldn’t be enough. According to an April 7 report, a 64-year-old man is facing a case where he’s accused of molesting a student. However, the allegation claims that the now-40-year-old woman had been receiving this unwanted attention starting at around age 8.

You may be wondering why she took so long to say anything, and you aren’t the only one. According to the report, she claims that the 64-year-old progressed into abusing her sexually at his home in Pierre Part. Up until 2005, the law had stated that a person could report a crime for up to 10 years following their 18th birthday. That has now been extended to up to 30 years, which may be why the woman is trying to claim the abuse now. Still, it does seem like a long time to wait to turn to the court system.

At this point, it’s not clear which of the two limitations will apply to the case, and the woman’s exact age hasn’t been released. With the new statue of limitations, she can be up to 48 years old and still report the alleged crime, whether it’s molestation or sexual assault or other such crimes. However, if these crimes happened well before 2005, she may have only had until she was 28 to report the alleged crimes, and it could be too late to prosecute according to Louisiana law.

In the meantime, this teacher is dealing with time in a detention center while the case is discussed. He has been charged with one count of sexual battery and another for the molestation of a juvenile. It’s not clear if any of this will hold up in the courts.

Source: The Advocate, “Former Assumption teacher accused of past molestation” Ben Wallace, Apr. 06, 2014