According to the Louisiana State Police, there are several types of sex offenses you could be charged with. Sex offenses against minors is one. These offenses are considered to be criminal offenses against the victim under the age of 18. This does not include situations where the minor is the alleged offender’s child. If you are convicted of a sex crime against a child, you will be classified as a child predator.
There are also other kinds of sex offense convictions you could face. For instance, a Tier I sex offender is any person who is convicted of committing or attempting to commit a sex offense listed here. Some include simple rape under subsection 3 of the law, sexual battery of a victim 18 or older, intentional exposure to AIDS, interference with child custody by someone other than a parent or incest. There are also several other offenses that fall under this category.
If you are instead convicted as a Tier II child predator, then it means you’ve been convicted of committing or attempting to commit offenses against a minor. You will have to register as a sex offender for at least 25 years if you are found guilty. These crimes classify for Tier II child predator charges: computer aided solicitation, the possession production or distribution of child porn, oral sexual battery, enticing a minor into prostitution, pandering to a victim under 18 years old, human trafficking and sexual battery of a minor under 18 years old.
Another potential category you could be charged with is a Tier III for aggravated offenses. If you’re convicted of trying to commit or committing any of these crimes, you’ll have to register as an offender for life. Some of the potential charges that could lead to this tier of punishments include forcible rape, second degree sexual battery and aggravated rape. These charges, like any other, require you to have a strong defense that allows you to protect yourself and reputation.
Source: Louisiana State Police, “Offenses” Sep. 16, 2014