In Louisiana, there are a few different things that can happen if you’re caught abusing marijuana. The fines and punishments apply whether you’ve been using the drug yourself or selling to others. Marijuana is not yet legal in the state, so you can face up to six months in the parish jail or up to a $500 fine for being in possession of the drug, even if you come from a place where the drug is legally allowed to be possessed.
For a second conviction, you could face fines of up to $2,000 and up to five years in prison. After that, each conviction could add on 20 years to a sentence. If you’re found with 60 to 2,000 pounds of the drug, you could face 10 to 60 years of hard labor. The fine raises dramatically to $50,000 to $100,000.
If you are caught with 2,000 to 10,000 pounds of the drug, then you could face fines up to $400,000 and face 20 to 80 years of hard labor. For being in possession of over 10,000 pounds of the drug, you could face 50 to 80 years of hard labor and up to $1,000,000 in fines.
The state laws in the United States are changing all the time, but Louisiana does have some of the toughest when it comes to drugs. If you’ve been stopped for having marijuana, selling marijuana, or trafficking it, it’s important to discuss your case with someone who has the legal knowledge to help. You don’t need to face this alone; in fact, it’s better to devise a plan with someone who knows the best ways to help you out of this situation.
Source: FindLaw, “Louisiana Marijuana Laws” Oct. 28, 2014