Louisiana is strict with drug offense laws, making it possible for even a first-time offender to face serious penalties like large fines or prison sentences. Cases involving the possession of, distribution of, manufacturing of or trafficking of drugs can easily be escalated; for instance, someone who simply was stopped for possession could be accused of intending to sell the drugs, leading to harsher penalties.
What can you do to prevent this from happening? A good start is working with someone who can help defend you. When you first face accusations for drug offenses, these charges may take you aback, making you fear the consequences. It’s important that you look into your options and understand the implications of each you could take.
Here’s an example of how simply possessing drugs can land you in prison in Louisiana. According to the cocaine laws, if you are found to be in possession of under 28 grams of cocaine, you could face five years in prison with or without hard labor and a fine of up to $5,000. If you sell it, you could face up to 30 years of hard labor and fines up to $50,000. For trafficking, you could face life in prison without parole, resulting in your being unable to get out of prison for the majority of or even your entire life.
With the right help, you can learn about your options and possibly protect yourself against these sometimes extreme punishments. You don’t want to have a one-time mistake cost you your future and life with the people you love. Our website has more about drug offenses and what you can do after you’ve been accused.