When it comes to drunk driving, the law does not take matters lightly. To some, choosing to get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle while intoxicated is only a few steps away from opening fire with a gun in a crowded area. This is because motor vehicles are extremely dangerous and capable of causing catastrophic injury and even fatalities to other drivers on the road. That is why you should always take your legal defense seriously if you are accused of drunk driving.
For Louisiana residents, drunk driving penalties are a matter of good news and bad news. The good news is that our state does not rank among the harshest of penalties for a drunk driving conviction, such as Georgia for example, where a first offense can lead to a yearlong license suspension. The bad news is that it is not among the easiest states either, such as Kansas, where a first conviction could only cost you a suspension of 30 days.
Louisiana DUI penalties rank somewhere in the middle compared to the rest of the country; the penalties are strict, but not always life changing. In some states, a third DUI offense can cause a permanent suspension of your license. In Louisiana, the first offense can lead to a suspension of up to 90 days, increasing to one year at the second offense and doubling to two years with the third offense.
Additional penalties for repeat offenses in Louisiana could include an ignition interlock device and even confiscation of your vehicle, as well as mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment. As you can see, even though these are not among the most severe laws in the country, they are still not penalties you should be risking. The possible suspension of your license or confiscation of your vehicle could easily have a massive impact on your daily life, not to mention the social stigma that will come with being a convicted drunk driver. If you are accused of a DUI in Louisiana, do not hesitate to contact an attorney as soon as possible and begin building a solid legal defense.