During the COVID-19 pandemic, our office will be open for free in-person consulations. However, if you would prefer a free virtual consultation via video conferencing, or a simple phone call, we can accommodate your needs.

Over 65 Years
Of Combined
Trial Experience

Over 65 Years Of Combined Trial Experience

Call us Today to Schedule A Free Initial Consultation

Marijuana laws in Louisiana

| Apr 12, 2018 | Drug Charges, Firm News |

Some crimes seem simple and minor because of the way society treats them. Much debate surrounds marijuana usage. Many view it as a harmless substance that has actual medicinal properties. However, this is a harmful perspective to have because the truth of the matter is that it is illegal in most states and could result in serious criminal penalties if the accused is convicted of this specific drug crime.

The marijuana laws in Louisiana are viewed as being one of the strictest laws in the country. This drug offense could occur no matter the amount a person is discovered to be in possession of. For first-time offenders found with any amount of marijuana up to 60 pounds, they could face a fine up to $500 and six months in jail. This is considered a misdemeanor offense.

For a second offense, the accused could face a fine of $2,500 and up to five years in prison. This is a felony offense. A third conviction could result in a $5,000 fine and a 20-year prison term, which is also a felony charge. Because the penalties are severe, many argue that the law is enforced unevenly because law enforcement officers and persecutors are able to handpick which repeat offenders are charged with a felony.

If a defendant believes they are wrongfully accused or errors were made during a search, seizure or arrest procedures, it is possible to use this information when establishing a defense. A strong defense strategy not only calls into question the evidence used against the accused but also provides the opportunity to reduce and even dismiss the charges against a defendant.

Archives