Criminal acts in Louisiana and elsewhere committed with a weapon can make a serious crime even more severe. With that in mind, when a weapon is used in the commission of a crime, the accused is likely to face harsher penalties of a conviction takes place. Depending on certain factors and circumstances, the accused offender could endure severe criminal consequences, making it vital to explore what criminal defense options might be available to them.
With regards to aggravated assault, this crime that is relatively minor is some cases, could elevate to a serious violent crime when a deadly weapon is involved in the assault. To understand this better, aggravated assault will be defined. This crime occurs when there are aggravating when an assault is committed. This includes the use of a weapon, the status of the victim involved, the intent of the accused and the degree of injury caused. When an assault occurs in the home of the victim, this could rise to an aggravated assault as well.
In the state of Louisiana, an aggravated assault occurs when a dangerous weapon is used. When a person is convicted of this crime, he or she could face a fine up to $1,000 and imprisonment up to six months. If it was determined that the crime was committed against a store employee while the accused was engaged in the perpetration or attempted perpetration of the theft of goods, the accused could face up to 120 days of imprisonment without the benefits of suspension of sentence and a fine up to $1,000.
While an assault charge may seem minor to some, when there are aggravating factors, this could make the charge more severe than one initially thought. Therefore, it is important to not only understand the charges faced but also the criminal defense options available, as this could help with the reduction and even dismissal of the charges.