Louisiana categorizes illegal drugs in Schedules from I to V based on their potential for harm. The penalties for possession of these controlled substances vary based on the specific drug, the amount and other factors.
Review the legal consequences for Louisiana drug possession when facing charges for this offense.
Narcotics, opiates and cocaine
This penalty category includes heroin, prescription opioids and other narcotics in Schedule I. Individuals convicted of possession can receive four to 10 years in prison and a possible fine of up to $5,000.
Possession of schedule II narcotics, including opium and opium derivatives, carries fines of up to $5,000. An offender could also receive up to five years in prison. The same penalties apply to possession of any form of cocaine.
Known as a club drug, ecstasy can result in charges for possession in Louisiana. A convicted person could receive a fine of up to $500 and up to 10 years in prison.
This category includes peyote, mescaline and LSD (acid). Possession charges for these drugs can result in up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Angel dust (PCP)
Louisiana imposes felony charges for possession of angel dust. A conviction carries a fine of up to $5,000 along with a sentence of five to 20 years in prison.
In addition to these base penalties for small amounts, larger amounts of controlled substances may result in manufacture and distribution charges. A conviction for this type of crime can result in several decades in prison along with tens of thousands of dollars in fines.