When a Louisiana law enforcement officer stops your vehicle and suspects you may be under the influence, he or she may administer a breath test and charge you with driving while intoxicated. A Louisiana DWI conviction means substantial criminal penalties, including fines, jail time, community service and probation, among others. However, a Louisiana DWI also has non-criminal financial implications.
For example, Insure.com notes that you are likely to see your auto insurance rates rise in the wake of a first DWI conviction. This holds true regardless of where you live in the United States, although residents in some states see higher spikes than those in others.
Predicting your insurance rate hike
How much more might you have to come up with for auto insurance once you have a conviction for drunk driving in Louisiana? The average Louisiana driver sees his or her annual insurance expenses increase by 48%. For example, if you paid about $2,228 a year for coverage before your drunk driving arrest, you may pay closer to $3,292 for insurance coverage after your conviction.
Shopping for a new provider
In some cases, your insurer may decide not to cover you after a drunk driving arrest. Alternatively, your insurer may decide to offer you coverage, but at a rate you think is unreasonable. In these situations, it may prove helpful to get quotes from several insurance companies before choosing one.
Once you have a conviction for drunk driving in Louisiana, you should anticipate it impacting your insurance premiums for the next five years.