Over 65 Years Of Combined Trial Experience

What are the possible penalties for prostitution in Louisiana?

On Behalf of | Jan 2, 2023 | Sex Offenses |

Prostitution is illegal in Louisiana for both buyers and sellers of sex. Any form of compensation in exchange for sex is illegal. Oral and anal intercourse also count as sex. Louisiana could charge you with a crime even before the act happened if you agreed to the exchange.

Misdemeanor vs felony

Sex offenses can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. The possible penalties for prostitution depend on whether the court is trying your case as a misdemeanor or a felony. First-time offenses are usually a misdemeanor. If the prostitute involved was a minor, it’s usually a felony. Using force or threats also makes solicitation a felony. There are other circumstances, such as having HIV when you solicited, that make the crime a felony.

Soliciting for prostitutes

You face up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $750 for soliciting. On a second offense, the court would fine you $500–$2,000. You could also receive a jail sentence of up to one year.

The possible penalties are more severe when the solicited person is a minor. You would face a prison sentence of 15–50 years and a fine of $3,000–$50,000. If the minor is under 14 years old, this changes to a prison sentence of 25–50 years and a fine of $5,000–$75,000.

Letting premises for prostitution

It’s illegal to allow prostitution to go on at your property. Letting premises for prostitution could result in up to six months in jail and up to a $500 fine. If the prostitutes were minors, however, your charges are 15–50 years in prison and up to a $50,000 fine. When minors are under the age of 14, then the punishment is 25–50 years in prison and up to a $75,000 fine.

Buyer Beware Program

Louisiana requires that you go through the Buyer Beware Program to learn about the harmful effects of prostitution. You must pay $200 for this education.

Prostitution in Louisiana comes with harsh penalties when the prostitutes are under 18. A minimum prison sentence could be 15 or 25 years, depending on the details of your case. Otherwise, the possible penalties are usually fairly lenient for a first offense.